September 4, 2010

Another Solid Update

Posted in solids at 7:14 pm by nebeli

B-Boy is still a champion eater. He moves up to eat in the “Toddler Food Program” next week, which means that the cafe at my work will be providing his meals during the day. He will then be eating the same foods that the other two older children are eating, which he seems to want. We will still provide his foods for snack, but this will make it much easier to get out the door everyday!

His culinary world is about to open up quite a bit, as they will be serving him a lot more than what he has had in the past. That’s not to say he hasn’t had his share of different foods.

As a matter of fact, I think his teachers think I am crazy. Last week I sent in two foods that they considered a bit “odd”. B-Boy is nuts over hamburger, no suprise there. But they were shocked when I sent in sauted eggplant, cooked with onion, garlic powder, basil and black pepper. But he LOVES it…

Another thing he loves? Baked Teriyaki Tofu. My workBFF said her kids adored it, which is how I even came to know it existed. Good thing, because all I have to do to prepare it is remove it from the container and slice it into cubes. Easiest preperation EVER. And, he really really loves it.

How do I know? Because B-Boy makes this noise when he is eating happily. It’s a MMMmmmm noise, but with a higher pitch in the middle. It makes me giggle when he makes it, and it also makes me to copy the noise back. The noise is that infective.

And then he wiggles back and forth in his chair before shoving a piece into his mouth. Unless it is hamburger, becuase that gets shoved in his mouth in fistfulls. He likes it that much.

We also introduced fish- he really liked the grouper chunks I sauted in vegetable broth, but it sure stank up his daycare and our house at the same time. His first meat was ham, and I think he liked the salty taste. It was funny to see him enjoying it… it was the first time I saw him shove food in his mouth over and over.

We are in the process of getting B-Boy to like Kiwi. It is hit and miss at the moment.One day he likes it, the next day, he spits it out immediately.

He is doing really well with his veggies, especially when I started cooking them in my homemade chicken stock. Carrots, peas, green beans and zucchini are transformed cooked that way. He scarfs up his veggies!

But his favorite food overall would have to be Gerber Puffs. They are star shaped, and come in lots of different flavors. B-Boy loves to make them CRUNCH in his mouth. His favorite flavors are the cherry and sweet potato. When he first started eating them, he would pick one up gingerly and place it in his mouth. Now, he picks up fistfulls and puts as many in his mouth as he can. Usually a giant smile follows as if he is saying “See, I really like these!“.

I am proud that he is so adventurous with his eating… I hope it keeps up as he gets older. I can’t wait to introduce crab, shrimp and crawfish! Yum.

Leave a comment